English, August: An Indian Story
English, August: An Indian Story by Upamanyu Chatterjee
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I liked the way he wrote the book. Writing random thoughts in presentable way is much more difficult than writing a story. The book is just like flowing thoughts. Can’t compare it with “Catcher in the Rye” but it is on the same path. Beautiful picturization of India accommodating western civilization.
The background of the book seems old and slightly unfamiliar to me, but It is mainly because I didn’t have read more about India just after Independence and it’s also missing from our social science course books. All my history books end at 1950🙂. My Hindi course book ends at pragativaad i.e. around 1920. Which drives me to read only post-Independence authors + those who continued after independence.
Either I missed the dramatic transition of upper class people or it may be lots of make up from author side. Although I can . ., think I can imagine communities as described in the book, Flashy and made up.
Anyway It’s witty and enjoyable.

View all my reviews