The Catcher in the RyeThe Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

"What really knocks me out is a book, when you’re all done reading it, you wished the author that wrote it was a terrific friend of yours and you could call him up on the phone whenever you felt like it." –🙂 It surely is a book like that.

A must read for all. An easy going book written in very very peculiar fashion. Completely strange style of expressing things not common to books. Seems like author is talking to you and not writing it. Because of it’s peculiarity you may end up not liking it, but it’s worth trying anyway. It is a thin book. You can’t write something like this and fill up 300 pages. It is not a story kind of book with sad or happy ending. It’s just a one way communication from a depressed teen who is trying to figure his way out. It assuredly raised many unanswered questions on education system from the point of view of average usual teens. A controversial course book.

"Don’t ever tell anybody anything. If you do, you start missing everybody" these are the end lines. It seems like every line from the book is quotable. All very nicely written in true friendly way.

The starting line goes like . .

"If you really want to hear about it, the first thing you’ll probably want to know is where I was born and what my lousy childhood was like, and how my parents were occupied and all before they had me, and all that David Copperfield kind of crap, but I don’t feel like going into it, if you want to know the truth. In the first place, that stuff bores me, and in the second place, my parents would have about two hemorrhages apiece if I told anything pretty personal about them."

I can’t write everything I felt about the book "and all"🙂. A complete mixture of feelings I have about the book. I am not a writer and blessed with such super power.

View all my reviews